Michael Boehnke Distinguished Visiting Scholar Award

Michael Boehnke Distinguished Visiting Scholar Award

History of the Award

The award was established in 2022 to honor an outstanding statistical scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of biostatistics, including statistical or computational genetics and genomics. The award was created to celebrate the legacy and work of Professor Michael Boehnke. This award recognizes Professor Boehnke's extraordinary contributions to the department of Biostatistics at the University of Michigan and to the fields of biostatistics and human genetics. Professor Boehnke has developed and applied groundbreaking, widely used statistical methods and computational tools to understand the genetic basis of human health and disease, with a particular focus on type 2 diabetes and related traits. He has also been a generous mentor over his 40-year career, serving as advisor for more than 40 doctoral students and postdoctoral fellows, and supporting nearly 200 students and fellows through his NIH research grants and as founder and director of the University of Michigan Genome Science Training Program.

Nomination and Selection Process

The award is given annually. Biostatistics faculty nominate and vote on a slate of candidates who best embody Professor Boehnke’s commitment to the fields of biostatistics and human genetics. The process is completely internal to the department. The award comes with an honorarium, a plaque and a weeklong visit to Ann Arbor to present a lecture and interact with the department community.

Contribute to this Endowed Award

To support the Department of Biostatistics in honoring Michael Boehnke's legacy and recognizing oustanding advancements in the field of biostatistics, please consider contributing to the Michael Boehnke Distinguished Visiting Scholar Award fund.


2023: Professor Sylvia Richardson, PhD

Professor Sylvia Richardson, PhD

Professor of Biostatistics, Former Director of the Medical Research Council (MRC) Biostatistics Unit, University of Cambridge

Watch Sylvia Richardson's Lecture.

Past Winners

2022: Professor Kenneth Lange, PhD

Professor Kenneth Lange, PhD

Maxine and Eugene Rosenfield Professor of Computational Genetics & Human Genetics, Professor of Biomathematics and Statistics, University of California, Los Angeles

Watch Kenneth Lange's Lecture.